Cosmic Planes and Beings Dwelling on them

We need to understand the Cosmic Planes, and the Beings to be found upon them, if we are to achieve the ability to access the guidance that is available.

As with everything in the esoteric world, there is a multitude of different definitions and descriptions of these eternal planes. This is an esoteric subject, so it is not easy to describe in everyday, practical material terms – but here we will endeavour to give a reasonably simple definition of this complex subject. In due course, we will expand information on some of these planes

As usual. we will give these ideas as accepted facts - rather than saying ‘Some people think that…’ – ‘Esotericism holds that ….’ – etc.


 A Plane  - is conceived of as a subtle state, level, or region of reality - each plane corresponding to some type, kind, or category of consciousness.

These planes are not divided, as in a layer cake, but flow from a centre and interpenetrate each other.

This interpenetration of planes underpins the universe itself as a physical structured, dynamic and continually evolving entity. One that, from the original pure, immaterial, spiritual consciousness. emanates through a series of steadily denser stages, until full physical, materiality is achieved.

The emanation was originated, at the dawn of the universe's manifestation, by the All who sent out a dynamic force framing all things that constitute and inhabit the universe.

Origins of the concept – it is similar philosophical concept to that of the Great Chain of Being, arranged metaphorically from God down to inanimate matter. Various ideas - Madame Blavatsky, in The Secret Doctrine, propounded a complex cosmology consisting of seven planes and subplans. These planes were further systematized in the writings of CW Leadbeater. Annie Besant and Alice Bailey. We are using these ideas as the basis of this explanation. Emanation - cosmologists today believe that the universe expanded from a ‘singularity’, approximately 13.8 billion years ago, called the Big Bang - meaning that space itself came into being at the moment of the Big Bang and has been expanding ever since, creating and carrying the galaxies with it. The esoteric tradition has a different understanding - that there is an on-going living Emanation and unfolding of steadily denser planes or spheres from the spiritual summit, the All, until the lowest and most material world is reached. Space - There is no such thing as empty space, Space is Spirit in its attenuated form, while matter is crystallized space or Spirit. This space is all around us at the present moment. Spirit - in manifestation is dual. Material reality is the negative manifestation of Spirit. The positive pole manifests as Life, galvanizing the negative Form into action, but both Life and Form originated in Spirit, Space. Evolution - Old forms--having outlived their usefulness--are constantly being resolved back into Space, which is also constantly giving birth to new forms.  Without this ebb and flow there would be no evolution or possibility of advancement.

Beings - on every cosmic plane are to be found Beings of various degrees of consciousness, awareness and wisdom.  As we describe each plane, we will mention the Beings to be found on that Plane.

Madame Blavatsky said

 'The whole Cosmos is guided, controlled and animated by an almost endless series of Hierarchies of sentient Beings each having a mission to perform.  They vary infinitely in their respective degrees of consciousness and intelligence'

Some of these Beings are the guides that help us access the infinite Wisdom that is available in the upper reaches of consciousness of the Cosmos.


Whilst teaching differs on the naming the planes, there is a broad agreement and definition of just what they are.

7. Monadic Plane

The plane that initiates, encloses and interpenetrates all lower planes.

Beings - Home of the All – the One all-encompassing, mysterious, indefinable, eternal One that embraces everything all souls, all Beings and all entities

6. Buddhic Plane

This is the middle state of consciousness. A realm of persistent, conscious, spiritual awareness - pure consciousness. Here man casts off the delusion of the self and enters a realization of the full consciousness of the intuitional level. This is the perceptive consciousness which is the outstanding characteristic of the Hierarchy.

Beings – here are to be found Beings on the higher levels of the hierarchy of evolved human souls. Being is that they have been through the whole process of evolution and evolution and have reached a high level of awareness and consciousness

5. Spiritual Plane

This plane provides spiritual knowledge and experience for advanced beings.

Beings - on these planes live spiritual beings who are more advanced in development and status than ordinary man. They I may not have been through the whole involution evolution process on planet earth and may have come directly from elsewhere.

4. Divine Plane

The plane on which all souls are born - then descend down through the lower planes and work their way back to this plane.  On this plane, souls can be opened to conscious communication with the sphere of the divine known as the Monadic Plane and receive knowledge about the nature of reality

Beings – this is the plane of Christ Consciousness. Here is to be found Jesus, the Buddha and other great Avatars and initiators of great religion

3. Mental Plane

This plane belongs to consciousness working as thought; not of the mind as it works through the brain, but as it works through its own world, unencumbered with physical spirit-matter. It consists of two divisions,

The Lower Division - the Heaven of Exoteric Religion

Beings – souls of good people – at an early stage of development of consciousness

The Upper Division is known as the Causal Plane - he world of light and blessedness, the highest of heavenly regions, extolled in the scriptures of all faiths. It is the foundation of existence, the source of visions, the point of conception, the apex of creation.

                    Beings - the abode of highly evolved souls who exist in their own self-effulgent form—radiant bodies of quantum light particles.2.

2. Astral Plane

The emotional plane – the level upon which is to be found all human emotions.

This plane can be visited consciously through astral projection, meditation, and mantra, near-death experience, lucid dreaming, or other means. Individuals who have developed the use of the astral vehicle can separate their consciousness in the astral vehicle from the physical body at will.

This plane may also be visited, unconsciously, in cases where sleep involves a separation of the physical body for a time from the higher bodies.

Beings - Populated by

  • angels, spirits, and other immaterial beings.
  • human souls, that have recently died, and are passing through on their way to higher planes
  • Individuals in periods of sleep
  • Individuals able to consciously access this plane using meditation or another spiritual practice

1. Physical Plane

 The material universe - the reality of space and time energy and matter - the lowest and densest of the planes.  Part of this plane is the Etheric Plane that is the energetic inner a structure of the physical object.

Beings - here it’s all material life as we know it – it is seen as having

Seven Sub Planes - there is consciousness on every one of the sub planes - rising from the most basic consciousness of the mineral, with increasing awareness until the human level is reached – the only level upon which there is self-consciousness.

  1. Human
  2. Mammal
  3. Birds and Fishes
  4. Insects
  5. Vegetable
  6. Mineral